Too Late.

AUTHOR’S NOTE: Hello! The following post is a just a rant I thought I would let out in the world, because I feel it’s quite necessary for people to know. Naturally, the words are pretty simple and there aren’t many beautiful metaphors in it either. So, beware, hater or critic, you’ve been forewarned of my post’s amateurish nature and simplicity.


I had a dream
Of a perfect day
With you smiling
All the while;
But,
When
How
Why
It transpired into
A wooden face
With Death etched
In every line,
I couldn’t even
Begin to guess
And now all that’s
Left is the bitter
Taste of words
Left unsaid.

The above poem could be a perfect example of a climax. Albeit a highly strange, twisted one.

But what’s even more strange and twisted is the way we show our feelings of affection towards our loved ones. I cannot begin to understand why we limit our out-bursts of love (in the form of often amusing and grammatically cringe-worthy long messages) to birthdays, anniversaries, etc. Wouldn’t parading our love a bit everyday be better than accumulating it like grime and dirt, resulting in a paroxysm of nasty acne on our face? (Brownie points to me for making it gross.)
I guess re-reading the Harry Potter series, for the 8th time in my 15 year old life, has caused the fear of being “too late” to leech itself on my life.

If only..
Harry couldn’t tell his god father, the excruciatingly handsome, Sirius Black, just how much he meant to him. Surely, Sirius deserved a better idea of how much Harry loved him than the disbelieving look Harry gave him; just as Bellatrix’s death curse separated them further than a gazillion light years could.
Ronald Weasley, Harry’s red-head best friend, couldn’t tell his older brother, Fred Weasley, how much he was fond of him. Surely, they deserved a better good-bye than what they got. And his twin George would have surely told him that he’d be like a Weasley without red hair, had he known about what would happen.
image

Nymphadora Tonks and Remus Lupin. If there was ever a pair deserving more time than what they got, that’s them. If there are lost souls and spirits out there, I can only imagine these two itching to find each other and say the ‘I Love You s’ that they missed out on.

My point is (if you haven’t read the Harry Potter saga and are feeling quite confused) that don’t be one of those people with the words ‘if only I had said..‘ haunting them for the rest of their lives. Sure, you might have read hundreds of write-ups with a similar message.

But I’m just doing my job; which makes it one thing less said “too late” for me.

-Kimaya Ingale.

3 thoughts on “Too Late.

  1. Shreeya Pradhan says:

    A very sweet write up, Kimaya…. You just put into words all that Harry Potter fans must have felt while “experiencing” the series. Btw all your posts are awesome, I always take out time to check your blog! Lots of love!!

    Liked by 1 person

❤ Your Thoughts Matter. Type. I'm Listening. ❤

